Earth Commission Co-chair Johan Rockström Wins 2024 Tyler Prize

futureearth.org/2024/02/29/earth-commission-co-chair-johan-rockstrom-wins-2024-tyler-prize/



Johan Rockström, Director of the <u>Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research (PIK)</u> and co-chair of the Earth Commission, has won the 2024 <u>Tyler Prize for Environmental</u> <u>Achievement</u> for leading the development of the "Planetary Boundaries Framework," a scientific guide to help keep the planet in a safe operating space.

The Tyler Prize is an annual award for environmental science, environmental health and energy, and is referred to as the "Nobel Prize for Environment." It recognizes the need for an integrative response to our environmental crisis.

Prof. Johan Rockström will be awarded \$250,000 by the Tyler Prize Executive Committee for his "science-based approach to sustainable development for people on a stable and resilient planet" at a ceremony in Potsdam, Germany, on May 18, 2024.

"As a matter of urgency, we must recognize and act upon the vast scientific evidence that patient Earth is unwell as human pressures on the planet continue to rise, breaching planetary boundaries. We are at risk of destabilizing the entire planet," said Rockström.

Mary Robinson, Planetary Guardian, Former UN High Commissioner for Human Rights on Johan Rockström as 2024 Tyler Prize Laureate commented:

"The Planetary Boundaries science is a critical measurement framework for the world to ensure we protect our life support systems. I'm thrilled that Johan Rockström is receiving this prestigious prize. He has dedicated his life to getting the world to understand that we have already breached six of the nine Planetary Boundaries and the urgency with which we must reverse this trend. There is no one more deserving of this award. It is an honour to serve as a Planetary Guardian, partnering with Johan to elevate this important science to help us achieve our climate goals and to create a world where all people and the planet can thrive together."

DATE

February 29, 2024 AUTHOR

Future Earth Staff Member SHARE WITH YOUR NETWORK

RELATED POSTS

Earth Commission Co-chair Joyeeta Gupta Appointed to the UN Group of Ten High-Level Representatives

Earth Commission Releases First Major Study Quantifying Earth System Boundaries

Johan Rockström Named in Time 100 Most Influential People 2023